ENERGY STAR Program Requirement Changes Effective September 15, 2015

ENERGY STAR Program Requirement Changes Effective September 15, 2015

by HVAC Distributors

The US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) has updated specifications related to Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps that qualify for the ENERGY STAR® program. ENERGY STAR is a qualification for many federal, state and regional utility rebate programs related to equipment upgrades.

Important Points to Note

  • ENERGY STAR Version 5.0 standards went into effect September 15, 2015.
  • ENERGY STAR qualification is based on date of product manufacture. Products manufactured before September 15, 2015 can be sold as ENERGY STAR if they meet the Version 4.1 standards (below). Amana and Goodman products manufactured before the cut off will have 1508 as the first four digits of their serial number.
  • The impact of the change on your business depends on the types of rebates that are available in your region.

The Change

The change is related to the energy efficiency requirements for air conditioners and heat pumps (HP).

  Version 4.1
(Old Standard)
Version 5.0
(Current Standard)
Product Type SEER EER HSPF (HP only) SEER EER HSPF (HP only)
Split Systems ≥14.5 ≥ 12.0 ≥ 8.2 ≥ 15.0 ≥ 12.5 ≥ 8.5
Single Package Equipment
(inc. Gas/Electric Units)
≥ 14.0 ≥ 11.0 ≥ 8.0 ≥ 15.0 ≥ 12.0 ≥ 8.2

For current federal, state and local rebates, click here.